Skip to content

Teachers’ Points of Pain

November 11, 2009

Think about significant changes you have made in your life. In most cases, you probably made them because something was causing you pain, whether physical, mental, or emotional. I lost weight (yes, I really did, one time!) when I was embarrassed to be huffing and puffing at the top of the stairs. My friend started a filing system because she lost tax records. A family member divorced because it was too hard to live with someone who was mean.

 Now, shift gears and think about a time when you went to the doctor because something physically hurt. Did the doctor begin the conversation by asking, “What do you need from me?” or “What do you want me to do?” No, she started by listening as you described the pain, and then she asked questions to learn more.

 So, coaches and principals, what “hurts” in the work lives of teachers you work with? And how do you find out?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 12:06 pm

    Dear Cathy,
    I’m such an admirer of your work. I really like your suggestion about listening to teachers as they share their points of pain. Thank you for all the good work you do.
    Thanks,
    Bonnie
    Author of How to Coach Teachers Who Don’t Think Like You

    • December 13, 2009 11:09 pm

      Thank you, Bonnie. I appreciate your note.

      I think we educators who work as consultants should form our own ning or linkedin group or meet at a national conference or something ….

Leave a Reply

